Posted by: Shri Kant
Category: Blog
IPL Orange Cap List

IPL Orange Cap List | Greatest Players To Achieve That Honor

Establish record-breaking scores, it’s IPL weather – it is indeed the league’s style of empowering batters to embrace the most out of the brightness. Teensy dialogue about this concept, which is substantially associated with the likelihood of batters, who will yet again seek to whack the white ball around with their bats well during the tournament to get their stats engraved in the IPL orange cap list.

The Orange Cap is the accolade presented to the greatest run-collector in the league. It is handed from one batter to the next as the group phase advances.

At the end of the contest, it is granted to the player who has gathered the highest runs. It’s a matter of opinion as to who will take home the IPL 2021 orange cap. The battle for the Orange Cap in IPL 2021 may be fiercer than expected. With world-class batters in play alongside some intriguing young players and exceptional 1st-timers. IPL debuted during 2008, ever since, it has proved to be the most competitive cricket event globally.

IPL Orange Cap List

Top players who are embossed in the IPL orange cap list so far

Shawn Marsh – 2008

With 616 runs from only 11 games, Shaun Marsh came out on top and registered his stats in the IPL orange cap list. The most fascinating aspect is how he didn’t even appear in all the IPL 2008 games. The lefty Aussie got the greatest run tally in 2008 IPL. He represented the Punjab squad. He earned 616 runs in 11 games, featuring one hundred and 5 fifties.

Matthew Hayden – IPL 2009

In 2009, the IPL conducted its second edition. It showcased thrilling bouts following the tremendous popularity of the inaugural version. Because of the Lok Sabha elections, the IPL 2009 had been hosted in South Africa. Hayden representing the CSK became a dominating run-grabber in the league by scoring 542 runs. His stint included 5 fifties that got his stats engraved in the IPL orange cap list.

Sachin Tendulkar – IPL 2010

IPL 2010 was another phenomenal bang after 2 years of commencement. Sachin representing the Mumbai squad scored the highest runs this season. For the first time, an Indian batsman got on the IPL orange cap list during the first 3 tournaments. In the league, Sachin batted magnificently for Mumbai Squad, collecting 618 runs. He scored that much in 15 games and lead the squad to the finals.

Chris Gayle – 2011

Chris signed RCB during 2011 as a potential substitute for Nannes, after 3 lacklustre seasons with KKR. Gayle’s luck in IPL altered resulting from a shift in the franchise, so much that it was cherished for a considerable time. Owing to the massive strokes, the dynamic striker then became a roaring success in RCB and proceeded to get his stats on the IPL orange cap list. In 12 innings, he tallied 608, comprising 2 centuries and 3 fifties.

Chris Gayle – 2012

Gayle was dominating the tournament with 733 runs in 2012. He had made a name for himself owing to his strokes in 2011. Gayle moved ahead with the outstanding knocks and made it to IPL orange cap list during 2012 as well. He was given the honour for the 2nd year in succession. Gayle had been the greatest run-collector, amassing 733 in 15 games, featuring 1 hundred and 7 half-centuries.

Michael Hussey – 2013

During 2013, Michael edged off the record with 25 runs to enter the IPL orange cap list. He restricted Gayle from getting the award for the 3rd time in succession.

He demonstrated that age is never an obstacle in cricket’s newest layout because the striker contributed significantly to Chennai’s quest, in spite of the club struggling for the championship. Hussey finished the season with 6 fifties. His total of 732 at 56.30 in 16 matches is a personal greatest in an IPL season, and he also happened to be the 1st Chennai member to reach a score of 700.

Robin Uthappa – 2014

Uthappa’s perseverance paid off while he dominated the scoreboard standings in 2014. With a streak of eight 40+ numbers and 5 fifties, he got into the IPL orange cap list. He and club commander Gambhir formed a devastating starting duo that guided KKR to the 2nd IPL championship.

David Warner – 2015

David electrified the arena by striking 7 fifties en route to 562 during 2015. An Aussie, this time a lefty, had made it to the IPL orange cap list.

The modest powerhouse built a strong pair with Dhawan at the leadoff spot for the Sunrisers, but they were unable to propel the club to the games ahead, finishing 6th with 14 points in the 8th season.

Virat Kohli – 2016

Nobody deserved to be listed in the IPL orange cap list after 2016 as much as Virat.

The Bangalore club skipper went on to shatter one record after the other, as he routinely does in global cricket. Virat’s insatiable thirst for runs resulted in his accumulating 973 runs in league matches at a mind-boggling economy of 152.03, including 4 hundreds and 7 half-centuries.

The statistics will live up to the hype, even if someone would pull the huge proportions established by the Indian skipper down, it would almost undoubtedly be the gentleman himself.

David Warner – 2017

It’s obvious to see why Warner has been so recognized globally in IPL as well as why he is an essential element in the SRH club.

Following the collection of 848 runs in the 9th season, David remained 125 runs behind Kohli. The next year, nonetheless, the lefty hammered 646 runs and won his 2nd orange cap in 3 years.

Kane Williamson – 2018

After Warner withdrew owing to the ball-tampering event that happened a month even before the 2018 edition began, Kane Williamson decided to take over as skipper of the Sunrisers Hyderabad.

All through the tournament, the NZ captain was at his finest, scoring 735 runs at an economy of 52.50 and hitting 8 fifties. His batsmanship, coupled with crucial bowling heroics, rocketed the champs into the final for the 2nd time in succession, to then be defeated by CSK.

David Warner – 2019

Warner has undoubtedly played a pivotal role in the Sunrisers’ recent resurgence, with the squad entering the playoffs each year since 2016.

He accumulated 692 runs at a phenomenal economy of 69.20 in 2019, slamming 8 fifties and an undefeated 100 versus RCB in the 3rd group stage encounter – a duel known the most for the 185-run early partnership among Warner and Bairstow (114).

Warner had to leave the SRH club in late April to join his Aussie team in training for the World Cup, exposing the 2016 champs with a gap in their roster for the majority of the playoffs.

The Sunrisers ended up losing their final two league matches eventually succumbing by two wickets to the Delhi Capitals in the Elimination.

KL Rahul – 2020

KL Rahul, the Orange Cap holder in 2020, while representing KXIP.

Despite just playing 14 games, the righty tallied 670 runs notwithstanding his team’s failure to enter the playoffs. His highest individual score in IPL 2020 was 132 off 69 deliveries versus RCB.

The Orange Cap is presented to the IPL’s highest run maker. It offers numerous advantages and is a significant accomplishment in and of itself. The objective of the Orange Cap is to be original, to produce one more exceptional bit of memorabilia, and to honour incredible individual performances.

“Cricket has always been recognized and documented as statistics, and not just by tangible differences,” as we already understand. So, let’s join the thrilling journey this season as it takes place and find out who’s going to make it to the IPL orange cap list.

Also Read: Best Fantasy Cricket App In India