Posted by: Kavya Madaan
Category: Blog
Indian T20 League Retention



So, after all, what is all about this Indian T20 League Retention? Let us know about this in the proper detailing. The Indian cricket board, formerly known as the BCCI, has a strong linkage with the Indian domestic T20 league. Indian cricket has dug out its own rules and guidelines for their big mega auction and retention. 

Now, it’s a new year approaching, and with that, every franchise of the Indian T20 league will be shown with about a total of Rs 90 Crore. In the former year 2021, it was for about Rs 85 Crore. So as we can see it has improved itself with a better one. 


So, you must wonder how the Indian T20 league retention work? Let us have a look at this as well. 

  • Every franchise in the Indian T20 league has this fantastic chance of staying or keeping their 4 of the players currently playing with the team. So they have this option to either keep their four of the best players from the group or have an entirely new squad for them. It is a choice that is presented to every franchise. 
  • There are some of the nationalities that help to represent the Indian T20 League, and now every franchise has this chance to retain the players with a maximum three which are representing India, they could be even capped or uncapped, two players could be from the foreign land and maximum of 2 uncapped cricketers could be chosen. 
  • If any of the franchises have decided to retain their four of the players, then. As a result their 42 crores would be deducted from the auction purse amount. The first player would get Rs 16 crores, the second would get Rs 12 crores, the third one would get Rs 8 crores, and the last one would get Rs 6 Crores.
  • If the franchisee decides to retain only three of the players, then the amount that would be deducted would be Rs 33 Crores. 
  • Also, there is a slight twist for the year 2022 mega auction that the RIGHT TO MATCH card will not be given as it is kind of unfair for the new franchises coming in the Indian T20 league. 
  • Also, the teams that retained their uncapped players can have an advantage as the uncapped players would cost Rs 4 Crores.


Now, everyone must be wondering which the teams would retain players. This is a fascinating thing for all our cricket fans. They wait every year for this mega auction and the new season of the Indian T20 league. It is a kind of festive season for our cricket fans, and they wait for it like anything. 

 Let us start with the most favourite team or franchise of MUMBAI,


The team has won the trophy five times and has been the most successful team till date. They are the champions who are still not beaten by any other team. The team has decided to retain the players Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, and Kieron Pollard. 

These players would be retained in the team and would play for it. 


Now, this team also has given some miraculous performances and have a huge fan base all around. You can’t just deny the charm of this team. Everyone likes this team, even in their subconscious mind. How can not one like this team as it is led by the legendry player, Mahendra Singh Dhoni! 

Also, the team has decided to retain these players, Ravindra Jadeja, Moeen Ali, Ruturaj Gaikwad and obviously, the skipper himself has been retained in the team. 


With AB DE VILLIERS announcing his retirement from cricket, a few names have been retained. The few “big” names that have been retained are Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Yuzvendra Chahal. 


Delhi has also some retained players like Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Anxar Patel and Anrich Nortje. These are some of the best players that have been retained in the team, and they will continue. 


The team is a reputed, two time-winner, and they have also retained four of the players. Players are Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, and their favourite young stars in the team have been kept like Venkatesh Iyer and Varun Chakravarthy. 


The most favourite batsman KL Rahul has been retained in the team. Also, they have kept Mayank Agarwal and also the uncapped player Arshdeep Singh has been observed in the group. 


They are popularly known as the inaugural champions as they won the first session of the Indian T20 league. The team has decided to retain Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal. 


The team has surprisingly let go of Rashid Khan and David Warner from the team. They have retained the players Kane Williamson, Umran Malik and Abdul Samad. 


Now, these are some of the players who have been retained in the teams and have made their space again in their respective teams. We still don’t have any particular date for the mega auction to happen in 2022. But it would be exhilarating for all the cricket fans who have been waiting for it for so long. Stay tuned for more news and updates. We would be here with the things happening in the Indian T20 league retention 2022.