Posted by: Kavya Madaan
Category: Blog


The Punjab team, formerly known as Kings XI Punjab, is one famous big team that was bought by a Bollywood celebrity. Unfortunately, it is one of those teams that has never won the title of the Indian Premier League. But this time, the team has managed to make a good side for their team. It has been decided that Mayank Agarwal will be given the captaincy for the team. The team has tried to retain some of its excellent players and has made an effort to make a good team. 


The team was popular enough because it had Preity Zinta’s name in the early years. The team chose to pick up the “icon player,” and the team chose India’s 2007 T20 world cup hero, Yuvraj Singh. The team made its perfect choice, and Yuvraj Singh entered the team without any hesitation. 

But unfortunately, the team has never won the title of IPL, which makes the team a little weak in front of other teams. 

Looking at all the captains for the Punjab Kings team. 

  • YUVRAJ SINGH (2008-2009)

He is the “icon player” for the team, and in the inaugural edition, he was appointed as the skipper in the IPL. He led the team on a very brilliant note, and it was very much evident in the team. The team had its fate, and they finished second in the league stage of IPL 2008. They made their 10 wins, but somehow they were not able to face the team of Chennai Superkings and lost the match. 

Yuvraj Singh was removed from the captaincy when the team missed out on the top 4 positions in the following year by a very narrow margin. 

The team played 29 matches under his captaincy, won 17 of them, and lost 12. He was not able to bring much success to the team. 


He is one of the best batters from the team of Sri Lanka, and he was picked up by the team of Punjab Kings in the inaugural edition. He was given the captaincy for the team when Yuvraj Singh was removed from the duty of a captain. 

But he was not able to bring much of the change in the team because they had their worst situations after they went with this captain. The team parted their way with the player because situations got worsened under him. 

He only made it to 4 wins and got 9 defeats, which was unacceptable. 


He is also a legend from the team of Sri Lanka and was picked at the very start of the edition. He was also one of the most expensive players, which the team bought for them. He remained on the team for the three seasons. He showed some fantastic performance in the team and did an excellent captaincy for the team. 

  • ADAM GILCHRIST (2011-2013)

He is an Australian player who is known for this wicket-keeping skills. He has some amazing leadership skills, on the basis of which he was chosen in the team. He has some good history records in the IPL because he made the Hyderabad team win one title of the Indian Premier League. 

But he was not able to make the team of Punjab win and it was also an unfortunate year for the team. He has shown his captaincy in some 34 matches and made 17 loses, and 17 wins. 

  • DAVID HUSSEY (2012-2013)

He is one very expensive player who was bought by the team. He was bought at USD 1.4 million, which was huge for the team. But the player had a lot of experience in the captaincy and was handed over the role after five matches in IPL 2012 when Adam Gilchrist was not present in the team. 

The team finished in the sixth position in the 2012 edition. They made 8 wins as well as 8 losses. 

  • GEORGE BAILEY (2014-2015)

The team saw a tremendous change and success in Bailey’s captaincy and made it to their first finals of IPL but could not win that and did not even go to the finals again. They lost from the team of Kolkata Knight Riders and were never able to make it to the finals again. 

He made 18 wins and 17 losses in a total of 35 matches. 


He was a part of the team for two years, and they had a terrific season in which they scored 561 runs. They came out as the winning side in super over in IPL 2015 against the Rajasthan Royals team. 

  • DAVID MILLER (2016)

He is a power hitter from South Africa. He is also known as the Killer Miller, and he was the longest-serving player for the team. 

He scored 1971 runs at an outstanding average strike rate of 35.2 and 139.2, respectively. 

He was appointed in the 2016 edition, but then he was axed away in the half of the tournament after showing some poor performances. 

  • GLENN MAXWELL (2017)

He is also an Australian all-rounder who was picked up by Rs. 6 crores. He has set up a target and made his outstanding performance by making 641 runs at an average of 30.5 and a strike rate of 180. But after that, he just got low and low in his performance. 

The team finished fifth in that season with seven wins and losses under his captaincy. 

  • RAVICHANDRA ASHWIN (2020-2021)

He was handed over the captaincy in 2018 when everyone saw that he has some brilliant cricket mind which could make the team win. He was bought at Rs. 7.2 CRORES which was massive for the team. 

He promised that he would come up with different tactics and solutions which could help the team win. But they were still unable to complete their goal, and the team did not make it to their win in that edition. 

  • KL RAHUL (2020-2021)

He is a very promising batter and was picked up by the team in the mega auction of 2018 for a number of Rs. 11 crores which was also a massive deal for the team. He showed a lit performance in that edition and was appraised for that. 

But he was not able to change the fate of the team, and they did not win the match again. They made it to the sixth position in that season before the season got postponed. 

He won 9 matches and lost 12 games. 


He was a teammate of KL Rahul in Karnataka and has been a very important part of the team. Rahul suffered from an injury, and that is when Mayank Agarwal got this opportunity to take the captaincy for the team. 

Let us see what all he can do in this edition.

Also Read: Who is Rajasthan Royals Captain for IPL 2022?